Hall of Fame


A member is inducted into the Hall of Fame bi-annually in recognition for their outstanding contribution to Millinery and the Association.

Year Presented Hall of Fame Member Achievements
1999 Tanyia Robinson
2001 Ted Maggs
2003 Jim Preston
2005 Mary Lock
2007 Peter Jago
2009 Gwenda Baker
2011 Jean Carroll
2013 Waltraud Reiner
2015 Marea Bright
2017 Elaine Mergard Elaine made her first hat in 1964 during her training as a Home Economics Teacher. In 1966 at the age of 20, she commenced teaching  Millinery classes with  Adult Education in Brisbane. She has also taught in TAFE colleges in Central Queensland & Sunshine Coast during  the 1980’s & 1990’s. Elaine established Hat Academy to allow access to Millinery Education for those who were unable to access the traditional TAFE training or looking to develop additional skills.
2019 Rose Hudson Rose began working as a milliner since 1979 and millinery has been her career ever since. A career that started as a trainee on the workroom floor and then rising up to become head of that very same workroom.  Her career has seen her dedicate many years to teaching, she has worked in theatrical millinery, made hats and headwear for television and movies. She currently wears three hats in that she is working as a freelance theatrical milliner, co-runs a millinery business and continues to teach. She was part of consultation committee in 1993 when the Association was formed and she still continues to be actively involved with the Association.  She was President of The Millinery Association in 2017 and 2018.